a poem by elizabeth morse

                                 GENERATIONS
                          My life cycles ever around
                                 My Memories grow
                             Entwining the memories 
                                  of generations                                               
                     My mind holds the memories of my past,
                          The visions of my childhood,      
                  The dreams of my parents and grandparents,
           The tears of my frustrations and the glow of my joys.
         
                          My life ticks out my destiny
       Vitalizing the lives of my children and my children's children,
                        Enriching the streams of my life.
                All the genes and tracings of my ancestors echo 
         And imprint a mold for the living cycle of my life and theirs
                       As it makes its way toward the sea.

                         The rivers of the generations fuse
           The contributions of all my ancestral voices in my memory, 
                           My loves, my faith, my causes.
                 In the cocoon of my heart, I do not stand alone.
                 Watching the circling of the wheels of my life,
                For the generations of my ancestors support me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.